GE14; Pakatan Harapan Unveils It’s Third Phase of Sabah Manifesto

GE14; Pakatan Harapan Unveils It’s Third Phase of Sabah Manifesto


KOTA KINABALU, SABAH – Pakatan Harapan Sabah announced the third phase of it’s election manifesto in Sandakan yesterday afternoon, highlighting the Ten Promises for one term if they are given mandate by the rakyat in this coming General Election.

Pakatan Harapan Sabah Policy Director-cum- DAP Sabah Secretary, Chan Foong Hin, was representing the political coalition to launch the ultimate version of the Pakatan Harapan Sabah Manifesto.

Also at the Pakatan Harapan organised Ceramah Perdana Harapan were Muhyiddin Yassin (PH Deputy President), Shafie Apdal (Parti Warisan Sabah President), Christina Liew (PH Sabah Chairlady), Stephen Wong (DAP Sabah Chairman), Hamzah Abdullah (Amanah Sabah Chief), Teng Chang Kim (incumbent Selangor Senior Exco) and others.

He pointed out that the Pakatan Harapan Sabah Manifesto is crafted based on five thrusts, including (i) the right to territorial government and peoples’ leadership, (ii) the right to petroleum and revenue justice, (iii) the right to basic infrastructure development and equitable industries, (iv) the right to quality education and (v) the right to equitable economic development and the empowerment of youth, women and minorities.

The thrid phase of Pakatan Harapan Sabah Manifesto is about the 10 promises made to the people of Sabah,should they form the coalition government with Warisan, they would implement the following policies, namely:

  1. Power Sharing in Federation
  2. Sabah Government Institutional Reform
  3. Quality Basic Infrastructure Development
  4. Respecting Customary Land Rights and Reviewing Exploration Scheme
  5. Sabah Development Vision as Far East Hub
  6. 100,000 Job Opportunities
  7. 30,000 Affordable Housing
  8. Creating Welfare State
  9. Sustainable Development
  10. Safeguarding and Strengthening Regional Relations

Among the 10 promises, he felt that Sabah Government Institutional Reform has to be prioritized.

“Now, at a time when Malaysia is facing with a corruption, malfeasance and kleptocratic crisis like never before, Pakatan Harapan Sabah is aspired to limit the Sabah Chief Minister’s tenure to two terms, not allow Chief Minister holding any other senior Ministerial post. Besides, people representatives are prohibited from engaging in business are also equally important.

We also uphold the principle of good governance, including to empower local democracy, re-vamp Yayasan Sabah Group, adopt open tender in government project procurement process and  re-negotiate all concessions that are not favourable to the Sabah Government.”

He said, Pakatan Harapan Sabah is also aspired to create a welfare state for the benefits of people of Sabah. As Sabah is asmong the poorest state in Malaysia. In order to provide with confidence in facing the challenges of life, Pakatan Harapan Sabah promised to offer various welfare schemes, including RM200 for every new born child; RM2500 for the deceased senior citizen to assist in burial expenses;  RM200/year for seniors aged over 60 years in recognition of their service contribution; RM240/year for rural children to attend school to reduce the “school drop-out” rates and RM2000 marriage allowance for every newly married couple.

“If the Pakatan Harapan ruled Selangor state government with RM3 billion budget per year could offer 40 something welfare schemes to the people, why couldn’t Sabah do the same to help the people by reducing their burden?”

The manifesto also emphasizes recognizing the 1963 Malaysia Agreement (MA63), by forming a Cabinet Special Committee to implement Sabah rights in accordance with MA63. For the illegal immigrants issues, Pakatan Harapan wish to seek a fair settlement of the issues including cleaning up of voters list, by proposing to establish a Truth and Reconciliation Committee.

In addition, the manifesto indicates the devolution of powers from Federal Government to Sabah Government for the benefits of all Sabahan. To achieve the purpose of financial resources sharing, the devolution of powers will cover seven specific areas such as trade and commerce, communication and transport, electricity, education, health, tourism, labour and social security.